National Voters' Day 2020 celebrated in Leh

By Reach Ladakh Correspondent Leh, Jan 27, 2020
Leh :

National Voters' Day 2020 was celebrated in Leh organised by District Election Office, Leh in collaboration with Nehru Yuva Kendra, Leh on January 24. Dr. Zahida Bano, ADC, Leh presided over the function at DC, Office Conference Hall, Leh.

It was first celebrated on January 25, 2011, to mark the Foundation day of Election Commission of India established on January 25, 1950. This year the Election Commission of India completes 70 years of its existence and celebrating10th year of National Voters’ Day at over 10 lakh locations across the nation, including polling station areas, sub-divisions, divisions and districts.
The theme for National Voters' Day 2020 is ‘Electoral Literacy for Stronger Democracy’ focusing on educating voters and renewal of citizens' faith in the electoral process through year-long activities in 2020.
Stanzin Angmo, NYK, Leh highlighted the significance of the day and said that the main motive is to encourage, facilitate and maximize the enrolment of youth and specially first voters. She informed that the importance of this day is to aware voters to take part in the political process for enhanced participation of citizens in the electoral process. Later Sangay Dolma gave a speech on Parliamentary form of Government.
A pledge taking ceremony was also held on the occasion and voting method using EVM machine was also demonstrated to the participants. Gurmat Dorjay, Assistant Electoral Registration Officer, Leh, Young Volunteers of Nehru Yuva Kendra, Leh, Staff of Election office, Leh and student of various schools was present on the occasion.
It was also observed in Nyoma Sub-division under the Chairmanship of Jigmet Rafstan, SDM where Sub-Division level officers, BLOs, Sarpanchs, School children and villagers participated in large numbers. 
Similarly, in Khaltsi Sub-division NVD was observed under the chairmanship of SDM Khaltsi, Tsering Mutup, in Nubra by SDM, Nubra Sonam Nurboo. Tehsidars, BDO, all officer/officials, Sarpanches and villagers were also present on the occasion.