Defence Minister lights 'Victory Flame' to mark 20 years of Kargil Vijay Diwas

By Reach Ladakh Correspondent New Delhi, Jul 15, 2019
New Delhi :

Marking the 20th anniversary of the Operation Vijay, Rajnath Singh, Defence Minister lit the Victory flame on July 14 at National War Memorial.

The Victory Flame will pass through nine major towns/ cities of North India and finally culminate at the Karambhoomi of the martyrs at the Kargil War Memorial, Drass on July 26.  Carried out by the Indian Army’s outstanding sportsmen and war heroes, the flame will be received by the Chief of the Army Staff.

The victory flame symbolizes the coalescence of the souls of the Kargil war martyrs and all along the journey and homage will be paid to the heroes who fought valiantly for the Nation.

Rajnath Singh along with Gen Bipin Rawat, Chief of the Army Staff, Subedar Sanjay Kumar, Param Vir Chakra handed over Victory flame to ace army shooter Subedar Jitu Rai who represented India, as the first torch bearer.

The design of the Victory Torch has been inspired by the grit, guts and glory displayed by the immortals who made supreme sacrifice for the motherland in the finest tradition of the Indian Army. The torch is made of copper, brass and wood which symbolises the tenacity and determination of our fallen heroes.

The upper portion of the torch has a metal etching of the Amar Jawan, epitomizing the fallen unknown soldiers. The lower wooden portion of the torch has 20 gold embossed inscriptions of the Amar Jawan exemplifying 20 glorious years of the Kargil Victory.

The Victory Flame and the journey of the eternal flame from the National War Memorial to the Kargil War Memorial brings alive the theme of the 20th anniversary of the Kargil Vijay Diwas -‘Remember, Rejoice and Renew’.